Board of Directors

                                        2018 – 2019 ASAHPERD Leadership Directory                                           
Board of Directors, Council Officer and Appointees
(*Voting Members)


Board of Directors:


Ginger Aaron-Brush

Pelham Oaks Elementary


Erin Reilly

Auburn Montgomery


Penny Edwards


Donna Dunaway

Samford University – Retired

Executive Director

Donna Hester

UAB – Retired                

Advocacy Co-Chair (18-21)

Sherri Huff

Birmingham City Schools

Vice President Health Division*

Deanne Allegro

Auburn Montgomery

Vice President-Elect Health Division*

Tricia Neura

Hoover City Schools

Vice President Physical Educ. Division* & Advocacy Co-Chair (16-19)

Allison Hoit-Tubbs

Lakeshore Foundation

Vice President-Elect Physical Edu. Division*

Michael James

Woodmeade Elementary School

Vice Pres Sport & Ex Science Div.*

Lauren Killen

University of North Alabama

Vice Pres -Elect Sport & Ex Science Div*

Gina Mabrey

Jacksonville State University

District 1 Representative* (18-20)

Carrie Beech

Spanish Fort Elementary

District 2 Representative* (17-19)

Derrick Lane

Morris Slingluff Elementary

District 3 Representative* (18-20)

Brian McRae

Tenth Street Elementary

District 4 Representative* (17-19)

Ann Trotter

T.R. Simmons Elementary

District 5 Representative* (18-20)

Ronald Ashley

Southlawn Middle School

District 6 Representative* (17-19)

Justin Estes

Crestmont Elementary

District 7 Representative* (18-20)

Jessica Wallace

Weeden Elementary School K-4


District 8 Representative* (17-19)

Katie Knop

West Elementary




State Department of Education Rep

Nancy Ray


Governor’s Commission on Fitness

Phil Holmes


Governor’s Commission on Fitness

Deane Pack


Council Officers:

Adapted Council Chair

Alex Martinez

Lakeshore Foundation

Adapted Council Chair-Elect

Dana Webb

Oxford High School

Elem. Physical Educ. Council Chair

Jaime Giangrosso

Cahaba Elementary

Elem. Physical Educ. Council Chair-Elect

Gaston Gibson


Middle/Sec Physical Educ. Council Chair


Mid/Sec Phys Educ. Council Chair-Elect

Autumn Smith

Leeds Middle School

Athletics Council Chair

Becca Grier

Hoover High School

Athletics Council Chair-Elect

Brenda Vinson

Walter Welborn High School


Higher Education Council Chair

Claire Mowling

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Higher Education Council Chair-Elect


Physical Activity Council Chair

Chad Dyer

University of North Alabama

Physical Activity Council Chair-Elect

Christian Walker

University of North Alabama


Research Council Chair

Mitchell Woltring

University of South Alabama

Research Council Chair-Elect

Jean Ann Helm Allen

University of North Alabama

Future Professionals Advisor (2017-20)

Sandra Sims

University of Alabama at Birmingham


 Future Professionals Council Officers:

Brianna Rudolph

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Corey Wells

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Christian Scruggs 

Alabama State University


Phillip Smith
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Zak Jones
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Appointed Positions: 

Social/Digital Media Manager (2018-19)

Ginger Aaron-Brush
Pelham Oaks Elementary

ASAHPERD Journal Co-Editors (2018-19)

Awards Chair (2018-19)

Allison Jackson
Samford University

Lee Renfroe
U. North AL

Jean Ann Helm Allen
U. North Alabama

Legislative Liaison (2018-19)

Connie Dacus
Alabama State University




Are you interested in serving on the ASAHPERD Board of Directors or do you know someone that would be an asset to our Board?