ASAHPERD offers recognition of outstanding members and individuals outside our profession for their contributions and achievements. Award recipients are honored during the annual Fall Conference.  Congratulations to the 2021 award recipients shown below. Click on the recipient's name to read a short biographical sketch (coming soon).




Honor Award

Ginger Aaron-Brush

 Pelham Oaks Elementary








Penny Edwards





College/University Professional of the Year

Erin Reilly

Auburn University-Montgomery



Administrator of the Year 

Delilah Stitt

Birmingham City Schools



Health Educator of the Year

Lin Slater

Huffman High School


Teacher of the Year-Elementary

Carrie Beech

Spanish Fort Elementary School





Teacher of the Year-

Holly Winfrey

Sacred Heart School


Teacher of the Year-

John Benjamin

Ramsey IB High School


Angie Nazaretian Lay Leader Award

Addiction Prevention Coalition

Adrienne Coleman


Advancement of Equality, Diversity, Inclusion

Penny Edwards



Distinguished Service Award

Donna Dunaway

HEAL United


Sport Professional Award

Sherri Huff

Birmingham City Schools